i have these memories…

i have these memories…

 

i have this radio, my friend,

and this rented apartment.

it is small,

and expensive,

but a good deal for ottawa.

 

i have these plants,

this wood table,

shelves full of books,

and food in the cupboards.

i have a good life

that i made for myself mostly by myself.

 

i have these memories:

a little boy, me,

hurt and broken.

i have these memories:

dead children, dead animals.

my father tearing a boy’s belly open with his teeth.

he cried for help

cried out in pain.

i could do

nothing

not even look away.

 

i have myself now

and the world doesn’t always hurt so much.

and i don’t always feel alone,

sometime i feel connected.

One thought on “i have these memories…

Leave a Reply

